Events

Upcoming Events in 2023

Friday, Feb. 9, 2023, at 6 pm | Reading and conversation at M. Judson Booksellers, Greenville, SC

Friday, Feb. 10, 2023, at 6 pm | Reading and Discussion of The Sum of Trifles at Hub City Bookshop, Spartanburg, SC

Wednesday, Feb. 15, 2023, at 7 pm | “Submitting to Journals, Agents, and Publishers,” an online class hosted by Scuppernong Books, Greensboro, NC. The class is part of a four-class series called “Between the Lines: What Writers Should Know About Publishing.” The series begins on January 5; register for individual classes or all four. Go here for more information and registration.

Image of Julia reading, a white woman with shoulder length reddish brown hair, glasses, and a dark shirt standing at a lectern reading into a microphone
Julia reading at Scuppernong Books.

Past Events

2022

Thursday, January 6, 2022, at 6 pm | Conversation with Joanna Pearson – Malaprop’s, Asheville, NC – Online Event, go here to watch the video replay of our conversation

Thursday, January 27, 6 pm | Reading with poet Ross WhiteWeatherspoon Art Museum, UNC Greensboro, sponsored by the UNCG MFA Writing Program and the Weatherspoon. Signing to follow.

Saturday, February 12 | “Look Closer: Writing the Familiar Object” Online class through The Porch, Nashville, TN. Details and registration here.

Wednesday, February 16 from 6:30 to 8 pm | Conversation with writers Jill McCorkle and Jason Mott, Greensboro Public Library’s Book Lovers’ Social, Greensboro History Museum. In person and virtual.

Thursday, February 24, 8 pm EST | Sewanee Writers’ Conference Fourth Thursday Reading Series Online Event

Saturday, February 26, at 7 pm & Sunday, Feb. 27 at 3 pm | The 10th Annual Bookmarks Movable Feast and Parapalooza, Winston-Salem, NC. Tickets required. Details here.

Saturday, March 26, at 2 pm | Associated Writing Program (AWP) Conference, Philadelphia, PA, Book signing at University of Georgia Press booth 1004, Saturday, 3/26 at 2 pm.

Saturday, April 23 | “Look Closer: Writing About Objects” (all genres), a class for the North Carolina Writer’s Network Spring Conference, UNC Greensboro.

Sunday, May 1 | Writing the Senses at NC Museum of Art, a class for Redbud Writing Project.

Sunday, May 22, at 4 pm | Just Bring Yourself: A Conversation with Ann Hood and Julia Ridley Smith. Hosted by Molly Sentell Haile. A keynote event at the Greensboro Bound Literary Festival.

Mondays, Aug 15, 22, 29, from 6 pm to 8 pm CST (7 pm to 9 pm EST) | Online class for The Porch, Nashville, TN. “Managing the Rabbit Hole: Incorporating Research into Personal Nonfiction.” Three sessions. Info and registration here.

Tuesday, Sept. 6, at 6 pm | Conversation with writer and journalist Elizabeth Evitts Dickinson — The Ivy Bookshop, Baltimore, MD. This event will take place in person on the Ivy’s back patio. Register here.

Thursday, Sept. 8, at 6 pm CST (7 pm EST) | Birthing the Book: An Online Conversation with Siân Griffiths. We will be discussing Griffiths’ new book The Sum of Her Parts, which “explores how women’s body parts and the roles/parts that women play have been deployed toward political ends.” Hosted by The Porch, Nashville, TN. Registration is free here.

Saturday, September 24 at 10 am | Moderating “Ties That Bind,” a panel with novelists Jamie Ford, Sarah McCoy, and Rita Woods – Bookmarks Festival, Winston-Salem, NC. At Hanesbrands Theatre. Book signing to follow.

Ann Hood, Julia Ridley Smith, and Molly Haile sitting behind a signing table at Greensboro Bound.
Ann Hood, Julia, and Molly Sentell Haile at Greensboro Bound.

2021

Thursday, November 4, 2021 at 7 pm | Book Launch – Scuppernong Books, Greensboro, NC 

Tuesday, November 9 at 6 pm (Signing line starts 5:30) | Conversation with Jill McCorkle – Flyleaf Books, Chapel Hill, NC

Wednesday, November 10 at 5:30 pm | Reading – Weymouth Center, Southern Pines, NC

Wednesday, November 17 at 5:30 pm CT / 6:30 pm EST | “Birthing the Book” Conversation with Susannah Felts – The Porch, Nashville, TN – Online Event

Saturday, December 4 at 2 pm | Conversation with Sarah Grunder Ruiz – McIntyre’s Books, Fearrington Village, Pittsboro, NC